Databases

ProQuest

ProQuest is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest’s complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. Unlike other resources, ProQuest is made up of separate, fully searchable databases that may be used together or separately. Accessing ProQuest off-campus requires a username and a password that can be gotten from any e-librarian on duty.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. JSTOR is committed to the preservation of this content for future generations and collaborates with academic communities. Accessing JSTOR off-campus requires a username and a password that can be gotten from any e-librarian on duty

ERIC

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the United States Department of Education. ERIC provides access to over 1.5 million bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added every week.

BioMed Central (BMC)

BioMed Central (BMC) is a United Kingdom-based, for-profit Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed journals. BMC has an evolving portfolio and has published in the last year over 32,500 articles in more than 300 journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Hinari

Hinari was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Up to 165 publishers’ content are offering up to 77,000 information resources in Hinari and many others are joining the programme (Requires password).

AGORA

Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture (AGORA) is a programme to provide access to major scientific journals in agriculture and related biological, environmental and social sciences to public institutions in developing countries. Launched in October 2003, AGORA provides access to journals from the world’s leading academic publishers (Requires password).

ARDI

The Access to Research for Development and Innovation (ARDI) program, coordinated by WIPO together with its partners in the publishing industry, aims to increase the availability of scientific and technical information in developing countries by improving access to scholarly literature from diverse fields of science and technology (Requires password).

OARE

Online Access to Research in the Environment (OARE) is the third in a sequence of partnerships developed in response to a call to the private sector from United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan in 2000 to improve access to scientific information in the poorest countries. Recognizing that environmental research plays a critical role in international efforts to manage sustainably the world’s natural resources. Recognizing that environmental research plays a critical role in international efforts to manage sustainably the world’s natural resources (Requires password).

GOALI

GOALI (Global Online Access to Legal Information) provides online access and training to law and law-related content. The aim of GOALI is to improve the quality of legal research, education and training, and in turn strengthen legal frameworks and institutions and further the rule of law (Requires password).

SpringerOpen

The SpringerOpen portfolio has grown tremendously since its launch in 2010, so that they now offer access to research journals and e-books in all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences.

PLOS

PLOS is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world’s scientific and medical literature freely available. PLOS ONE is an open access peer-reviewed scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science since 2006. It includes articles in any disciplines within science and medicine

AU Press

Athabasca University (AU) Press is Canada’s first open access scholarly press. Founded in 2007 with the principal aim of reducing barriers to knowledge and increasing access to scholarship, we are committed to bringing the work of emerging and established scholars to the public. With both an open-access journal and monograph program, our contribution to the growing body of academic and literary work is significant and available to a global readership at no cost to the reader.

ANU Press

ANU Press is Australia’s first open-access university press. Our authors publish peer-reviewed research on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science.

OHP

OHP (Open Humanities Press) is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. We have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.OHP’s organization is a community interest company headquarted in London.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

There are nearly 9,800 open-access journals found through this collection covering a broad range of disciplines.

AGRICOLA

Search for books or journal articles from the National Agricultural Library.

African Journals Online (AJOL)

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.

GeoRef Open Access Journals

GeoRef provides searching and full access to journals and series in geology, geography, and related disciplines that are openly available on the web.

Bioline International

Beginning in 1993, Bioline International began providing full text access to peer reviewed journals that contain research on public health, international development, tropical medicine, food, nutritional security, and biodiversity.

arXiv

Sponsored by Cornell, this site provides eprints of quantitative research papers in many of the science disciplines.

DOAJ

The Directory of Open Access Journals provides full text coverage of scientific, scholarly journals.

E-Print Network

Scientists have created this network of information gleaned from websites and databases to create a database of e-prints.

FreeFullPDF

Over 80 million free scientific publications available.

GAlLEO Knowledge Repository

Digital collections from the University of Georgia.

Genamics

A free database of almost 10,000 journals. The articles themselves are not available on the database, so it is an identification resource.

InTech

InTech’s byline, “Open Science Open Minds” introduces their platform, which provides open access to STEM books, chapters, and journals.

Journal TOCs

A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access)

Medknow

Based in Mumbai, India, and focusing on developing countries, Medknow is a pioneer in open access publishers worldwide offering free HTML articles from 155 medical journals.

PLoS (Public Library of Science)

A database of open access, peer reviewed journals in the sciences.

PubMed Central

A free digital archive of biomedical and life science journal articles.

ROARMAP

Links to open access repositories worldwide

SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)

The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition provides access to papers, articles, blogs, newsletters, and news for research scientists.